Presidential Executive Decrees Issued Under the State of Emergency

Following the constitutional amendments of the April 16, 2017 referendum, Turkey transitioned to a type of presidential regime called “Presidential Government System”. On June 24, 2018, early parliamentary elections and presidential elections were held concomitantly. Recep Tayyip Erdoğan was elected the first President of this new system and took office with the inauguration ceremony of July 9, 2018. The State of Emergency, which was declared on July 20, 2016 and then extended in 3-monthly intervals to last a total of 729 days, ended on July 19, 2018. In this ten-day interval, Presidential decrees were issued on the basis of the authorities granted by the new system and the State of Emergency continued as well. This report on State of Emergency will focus on the first 12 presidential decrees issued during this ten-day interval in a separate section.

Presidential Decrees 1-3 were issued on July 10, 2018; 4-10 on July 15, 2018; and 11-12 on July 16, 2018.

These Presidential Decrees introduced changes to the public administrative structure, especially establishing the agencies and units of the Presidential Organization.